64 Options

In one of the early chapters of the Kama Sutra Vatsyayana gives a list of the subjects that little aristocratic and bourgeois girls should study. Of course it includes the usual suspects – writing, drawing, singing etc., but there are a lot of suprising entries as well: architecture, military strategy, formal logic… Here it is, if you’re interested: http://www.sacred-texts.com/sex/kama/kama103.htm

I always thought that, should I have the misfortune to have any children, and should they by some miracle survive to an age as to require education, this is what I’d teach them. I’d make one or two changes, of course. After all, “arraying and adorning an idol with rice and flowers” is a skill that I find gets less and less useful every day. I’d add in driving, computer programming and law, but that’s about it.

And I’d be completely wrong, obviously. They could be the best cook/chemist/gardner in the world, but no one would ever find out for lack of a BEP and two years’ experience in a French company.

On the bright side, they wouldn’t starve. Vatsyayana also advises parents to ensure that their children are instructed in “the 64 means of enjoyment”: possibly the last career in which no state-sponsored qualifications are necessary.

What it mostly boils down to is that I spent this week applying for jobs with SMS sex chat services.

3 thoughts on “64 Options

  1. Wait, the parents are supposed to instruct their own children in the ways of enjoyment? By the way, just out of interest, what kind of things would need to be on your cv to obtain such gainful employment?

  2. 1. No, you’re supposed to get a servant or a poor relation to do it. Otherwise that would just be weird, right?
    2. I’m not sure what the necessary qualifications for sex chat are (for traditional phone chat I presume it’s a sexy voice and an ability not to laugh hysterically at ridiculous things, neither of which I possess), but as I haven’t had any replies, I can only conclude that I haven’t got them.

Leave a Reply

